Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s modern world, a part of the society opines that the most effective way to better career is finding work upon graduating from tertiary education, whereas the remaining think that it is best to work right after school. Although there is indeed a small proportion of college dropouts who have successful careers, I personally lean towards the latter view that academic education plays a crucial role in a person’s career path.

It seems evident that the accomplishment of some world's famous billionaires who skipped academics to start their own business is one of the reasons why people have a tendency to get a job right after high school. Microsoft Corporation built by Bill Gates and Facebook built by Mark Zuckerberg are the two most concrete examples today when it comes to not going to college but still having great achievements in life. We can admit that finding work immediately after high school can help those people to gain practical hands-on experience and polish skills related to their chosen profession instead of mere theoretical knowledge from textbooks, which are the primary references provided in universities. However, stories of these high-talented individuals led a small segment of young people to make them misunderstand that knowledge taught in college is not as essential as working experiences. As a result, a majority of them can not find a true job since they still do not know how to determine the right type of job when there is no one to guide them at that time.

However, the acquisition of a tertiary degree today has great significance as it can give us a variety of benefits in our life. When you embark on formal university education, not only you can build a huge network of friends and like-minded people, but you can also gain a great deal of knowledge. Moreover, at university or college, you also can gain knowledge when you do the teamwork by discussing case-studies with peers, which is considered immensely beneficial later in your careers. Also, there is no doubt that when employers need to face hundreds of applications, it is easier for job seekers to be noticed by employers if employees have the relevant college qualification or diplomas. These social relationships could benefit you in furthering your career in the long-term policy.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that completing higher studies is an imperative determinant of one's future career success, and strongly advocate that students should not drop out midway during their studies.