The argument over whether learning at home or at school is better for children
has not been settled yet. Whereas home education offers better protection with
individual learning and opportunities for families to bond, schools have a superior
range of material and human resources. Ultimately, I think the school experience is
best for children.
There are several advantages for children who learn at home. Firstly, they can
spend more time with their parents and siblings. Many social problems are associated
with families not spending enough quality time together. Teaching children at home
also provides them with an individualised learning environment. Instruction is
custom-designed and moves at the child’s own pace and in accordance with his or her
individual learning style. Finally, home schooling protects children from bullies and
others who might be a bad influence.
On the other hand, the school environment also offers advantages for children.
Schools encourage children to socialise with their peers and learn how to cope with
gossip, bullying and peer pressure. In addition, children will receive better tuition
across a range of disciplines, as schools have teachers who are trained in special
subjects. What is more, schools provide better access to physical resources such as
sports equipment, musical instruments and library books.
I believe that children are better off in a school environment. Although family
time and individual learning are important, the range of expertise and resources that
schools offer cannot be matched in the home. School environments may present
difficult social situations, but so too does the real world and children must learn to
navigate these on their own.