Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Gifted education has been a controversial topic of debate in recent years. Some people think that teaching music in schools is an appropriate way for students to grow up and be taught positive behavior. However, another group of people believes it wastes time and resources. I strongly support the idea that music should be taught in schools.

On the one hand, education is intended to improve people’s knowledge and physical health. Besides the demands/ needs of knowledge, it is essential to develop learners’ spirits which take shape in songs’ melody and lyrics. Moreover, music is a very valuable form of entertainment. Students can relax their minds when they attend music performances in class or at school. Talented musicians and singers are almost always discovered in gifted schools where vocation subjects are focused on.

On the other hand, if students have to learn many music periods at school, they do not have enough time to concentrate on their main subjects. Instead of putting emphasis on Maths, Literature, it takes students 2 periods a week to learn music.

In my opinion, because of a gift subject, schools should offer students the freedom of choice to attend classes that they think they are proficient at. Additionally, gift periods should not coincide with primary ones to avoid wasting learners' time.

In conclusion, learning music in school offers students more benefits due to its entertainment, human experience, and talent development opportunities. However, it would be better if music classes in schools were properly organized.