Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer game can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your opinion.

Watching tv and playing computer games are two of the most important children’s leisure activities. However, whether they bring more harm than good has caused heated debate. My view is that too much time spent on these surely has negative impacts on kids and parents have to sort out the appropriate programs for children and curb these activities.

Since the television viewing and video games requires minimum effort to turn on and off, it can be conducive to laziness. While other outdoor activities could improve both mental and physical strength by burning calories and building muscle, watching tv has nothing to so with these benefits. For example, for those spending watching tv for too long may bear a high risk of obesity and become less muscular fit. That is not to mention that children spend less time interacting with their friends, which may inhibit their social skills such as conversation and interpersonal skill.

Moreover, questionable contents on tv or computer games will result in unexpected implications on impressionable people. For example, many boys like playing computer shooting games including one of the most famous one called CS (counter-striker). While we are calling for world peace, our kids are learning how to use dangerous weapons through this game and get used to pulling the trigger without hesitation, it has been reported that one killer of school shooting in the us used to play computer shooting games in his child- hood.

In sum, spending too much time on watching the telly and playing computer games is definitely harmful to children. And parents should take time, regardless of how busy their schedule is, to guide and supervise these activies.