Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words

It is argued that it should be mandatory to include wage free community service in the curriculum. I believe that learners should participate in such services without necessarily imposing ultimatums on them.

First of all, when learners are given the freedom to voluntarily take part in community service we expect that they will engage whole heartedly. They will have the intrinsic motivation and self drive to fully participate. They will also appreciate such activities as a form of giving back to the community. For example, a teenager who has interest in sports or will be more than willing to mentor younger children to engage in such activities.

Secondly, if the programme compulsory it is likely to face a lot of resistance and rebellion. Nowadays, learners feel that they should have the freedom to choose the activities that they should engage in. They will not gain any form of satisfaction from activities which have been imposed on them and may end up boycotting. For example, a teenager whose parents form rules which have to strictly be followed to the letter is likely to grow into a delinquent.

In conclusion, while it is necessary for high school learners to take part in unpaid community service, it should be on a voluntary basis. This will ensure that they have motivation to engage in such activities and will decrease chances of encountering resistance and rebellion.