Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to help students to stay connected with the community, many people think the activities related to charity or society must be involved in the curriculums of high schools. From my perspective, I totally advocate this point of view because of two main rationales.

Firstly, these unpaid community services help students to nurture their morality. To be more specific, by involving in charity activities, they are able to understand the difficulties of people who are in need. Therefore, they could show their kindness and generosity toward others, which are necessary to become decent persons. Moreover, students also can have many valuable experiences through these activities, so that they would develop a sense of responsibility to solve existing problems in the community. As a result, they could find the right motivations to study better in schools, becoming more responsible to society. According to scientific research, since British tertiary systems required students to join at least three social activities before their graduations, the study performances as well as the well-being of learners improved significantly.

Secondly, having chances to make new friends and relationships is one of the most benefits that could be reaped from these social activities. As some activities such as repairing houses or delivering free meals for poor people need the cooperation of many volunteers, therefore, students are likely to meet peoples from other backgrounds. Because of that, they could build up their relationships widely which is an important factor contributing to their success in the future. In addition, these activities can also help them to learn many soft-skills by interacting with people. For instance, teaching children can help them to learn how to communicate well to transfer their opinions or working with others helps to develop teamwork skills. These soft-skills makes student become more energetic and would be the competitive edges in the job market.

In conclusion, high schools need to add unpaid community services into their curriculums. It not only nurtures morality but also helps to build up relationships and gain valuable skills.