Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of all kinds of community services and their corresponding impacts have sparked massive debates. In this regard, a number of individuals are of the opinion that adding community services to syllabus of secondary schools as part of students’ mandatory tasks will be a useful idea. In my view, both students and societies have the opportunity to utilize the benefits of compulsory community services, although we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers’ opinions.

Obviously, there are loads of services in societies that have the ability to shift the societies to higher positions. For example, different charities all around a specific country are trying to eliminate poverty and hunger. Students through cooperating in such activities can contribute to relieve the pains of wretched people. Likewise, students who are struggling with teaching to pupils end up to increase the sense of cooperation in the society. Similarly, if students are trained to assist their neighbors as their curriculum in schools, as a result the relation between families will solidify.

Moreover, compulsory unpaid services also have various impacts on students. As a tangible example, helping other people by working in charities make student more confident and positive. In addition, students can enhance their social skills and interaction abilities through instructing younger pupils. Furthermore, they will learn how to be a valuable person in their life and their sights about life values will be widen.

On the other hand, some individuals follow different viewpoints about this idea. In term of education, the hours which students spend on these services may negatively affect on their learning process. Psychologically speaking, seeing such miserable people as homeless ones may lead to mental issues in students. In terms of children’s rights, some people claim that schools don’t have the right to force students for participating in unpaid community services.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros this fact, I opt to vigorously support the idea due to merits for both students and societies. Eventually, can we imagine ourselves in place of homeless people and feel their sorrows?