Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is suggested that teenagers should be involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of high school programmes. From my personal perspective, participating in such voluntary works is a good idea as it provides young people with valuable skills.

There are a great variety of benefits when youngsters take part in unpaid community services. To begin with, it enables them to foster their skills. Joining in such activities is much more beneficial than sitting in front of the TV. By doing this, juveniles are capable of improving their organizational skills, problem-solving skills as well as their communicative abilities. In addition, they will have more opportunities to socialize and communicate with other people, form new relationships, broaden their friend cycles, and exchange their thoughts with people who have the same interests.

Moreover, it is a good way for the children to learn to be patient and have higher endurance after working for community service. Specifically, when they teach the children in remote areas to write and read, patience is required, which cannot be learned from textbooks. Additionally, being involved in voluntary works allows the young to de-stress. They can keep their mind off from their studies relating to the academic subjects at school. Thus, they will come up with new useful ideas and will not get bored.

To sum up, I do believe that unpaid community services should be implemented in high school programmes as it plays a key role in the development of the children and brings a wide range of benefits. The administration is more likely to flourish if the children are well-educated.