Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports for younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, education has been receiving a great deal of people’s attention all around the world. Some argue that high school programmes should comprise voluntary work as a required subject. Personally, I totally agree with this notion and this essay will give some reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, participating in voluntary projects may bring students many benefits. They can gain practical experiences as well as improving their essential skills which are taught less at school such as communication skills or team work skills. An example can be seen as when a student wants to finish a mission quickly, he needs to cooperate with other members effectively, which enhances his team work abilities. In addition, they can make a good decision about their future jobs through voluntary work. For example, if a student teaches other younger children freely, he possibly likes this job, which gives him a desire to become a teacher in the future.

Moreover, unpaid community service also encourages students’ empathy and sharing with poor people. As a result, they want to do more things to help surrounding people without requiring responses . Furthermore, voluntary work also helps people living in difficult conditions deal with their predicaments. For instance, many roads and houses are constructed by volunteers to meet the demand for mobility and improve the quality of citizens’ life.

In conclusion, I am more convinced that free community service should be added to high school programmes as a compulsory part because this not only provides students with necessary skills, but also helps poor people tackle their problems.