Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that children should be motivated to perform free social work for progress of their nation. While few individuals opine that, it should be made obligatory for secondary school learners, whereas in my opinion I do not completely agree with this view and will support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, adolescents should be encouraged to provide unpaid welfare services for the betterment of their society. The reason is that it will inculcate a sense of responsibility and affection, which in turn would aid these youngsters to lead a successful life. For example, a study done by the UK news channel in 2011, reported a professional success achieved among those teenagers who were involved in catering for needs of senior citizens in their schools. As a result, they could handle the requirements of old people at work place in an efficient manner. However school pupil should not feel compelled to perform this good act, hence they may avoid it.

On the other hand, I believe students should be given autonomy to choose whether they agree to do service or not. This is because, teenagers may feel burdened, which lead to lack of enthusiasm and resentment. For instance, in my own experience, in my secondary school, I was forced to do social service of teaching poor children. As a consequence, I skipped those lessons by making various excuses. In contrast, children should feel the urge to do good community work from their own heart. Therefore, I believe conducting a community service depends upon an individual’s desire and personality to perform it and not a compulsion.

In conclusion, while it is beneficial for society and students to do free social service, in my opinion it should not be made obligatory, but left to one’s own choice.