Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that high school should include mandatory programmes such as charity work, helping around the neighbourhood and imparting knowledge to others. I strongly agree to this opinion, as it will help to mould the students into responsible adults.

On the one hand, social work helps to instil a great sense of responsibility towards the high-school students, which is required in shaping a good society. It also allows them to mature through learning the various skills needed, especially in helping others. For example, teaching basketball skills to younger kids, it allows them to impart their knowledge and techniques to those interested in learning and understanding more about the sports. Through social work, it also helped them in becoming a better person and refrained from committing socially irresponsible acts.

On the other hand, some students might misuse the time allocated for such services, as they might consider it as an excursion to spent time with their friends instead of learning experience. Furthermore, some might think that doing social services is just another burden thus stirring unhappiness among them. This can then lead to more students not attending school when they have social services lessons. However, if students do not take up any social services programme in school, they might not grow up to a more responsible adult.

In conclusion, although mandatory volunteer work does have it drawbacks, it is still beneficial in shaping a child into a socially responsible adult. Therefore, it is recommended for students to enrol themselves into such programmes.