Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many past studies shew that the more an individual engages with his society in a meaningful way, the happier and healthier he becomes. That is not to say, every highschool student should participate in unpaid community tasks without his own interest and will.

Voluntary works are practical and effective educational methods. They provide chances for high school students to choose the work that they are best capable of or interested in doing. This means they will have to think through about what they want to do in life, therefore making better career decisions after graduation. Take Vietnam as an example. While it is an unfamiliar idea for educationalists here to have a positive look about such thing like gap year, this activity can be a great career orientation that could be conveniently embedded in the school curriculum. The community programs could also harness humanistic values among highschool students. Through close attachment with the less fortunate, students learn that life is diverse and mankind would be better off helping eachother. This practical environment teaches better than theories or stories in textbooks.

Making this activity a compulsory task, however, would lose the initial meaning of the service and entails unforeseen consequences. The people who receive unpaid service will not be happy if they know the highschool students are not willing to do that. The students can also face difficulties choosing the service associated with their ability and interest. In case there is no match service to be selected, he confronts the possibility of doing something he does not have keen interest in just to meet the school’s requirement. This will results in bad performance and negative attitude towards the voluntary services. The initial helping spirit now becomes a burden for both sides.

Overall, I slightly disagree that highschool children should be obliged to join unpaid community deeds. The alternative way to encourage students to do social works is to make it an optional subject in the curriculum and increase children’s awareness about the program so that they could voluntarily register to contribute.