Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that high school children should take part in some community services for free like working for a charity, teaching sport for young children. T strongly agree with this idea, given how working in unpaid service helps children with responsibility and the government can utilize the young’s energy to save money.

Firstly, working in unpaid service makes high school more responsible for their own community. Most of the works are held by the non-profit companies, supposed to serve society. Thus, participants have to take care of their own lives. My cousin, for instance, used to be a boy who was very irresponsible for the means of protecting environment. He always littered on the roads and frequently used plastic bags instead of paper bags. Last summer, he joined a non-profit company called “Save Earth”, which aims to protect the environment, as volunteer for fun. But after that, I have never seen him throw garbage on the streets anymore, always litter in prescribed places. My cousin story is a powerful example of how working for free in community services teachs young children to be more responsible for society.

Secondly, from the perspective of government, setting unpaid services into high school programs is the ideal way to save money to invest in more essential programs. High school students are always full of enthusiasm and energy, besides, they spend most of their time to study at school and hardly do anything else. Therefore, of government can utilize this source of labor, they can save a large amount of money. For example, last year, the council of Long Bien District had to pay $5000 for hiring environment workers to clean all the roads. This year, the council launched a program called “Cleaning day”, that encouraged students to clean the roads around their school in every Sunday. As a result, the council had to pay only $1000 for raising fund. Clearly, the council did save a great deal of money by organizing this unpaid program.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I completely believe that unpaid community services should be included as a mandatory program in high school.