Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

Some professional claim that children should learn a second language at primary school rather than secondary school. While there are some downsides of learning foreign language at the early age, I believe they are eclipsed by the ability of learning new things when they are young.

I can understand why some people think that learning a new language in primary school is not necessary since children are not old enough to learn such a difficult subject. Most of students, in the early age are encouraged to improve and focus on their mother tongue because there are still many of them cannot use their mother language correctly, let alone foreign language. Take my niece as an example; During the period of primary school, she got a mistake of pronouncing “s” and “x”, “n” and “l”, that made her parents and teachers have to try really hard to fix her pronunciation. All the efforts paid back not until she got into 6th grade. Clearly, if students cannot even master their own language, how is it possible for them to learn a new one?

Nevertheless, I believe the age from 6-11 is a perfect time to learn new things. The younger people are, the easier they can absorb knowledge since the brain of child is still developing and in the ideal condition for learning. A friend of mine, for instance, when he was 8 years old, his father sent him to the Japanese classes. He had to learn by heart and practiced so much and eventually he got N1 level only 1 year later, which was a dream of many Japanese learners, some of them even can never achieve it. In contrast, I started learning English in University, it took me 3 years to simply reach B1 level. My friend’s story is a power full example of how learning a new language at very young age benefits his ability of acquiring knowledge.

All things considered for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that children had better learn foreign language as early as possible.