Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that in the design stage of a building, its internal practicality should be considered more important than its exterior. Personally, I believe that two factors are of equal importance and complement each other .

On the one hand, there is no doubt that a magnificent outer space can bring about many prestigious commercial values. For example, with shopping centers or apartments for rent, it is the outward appearance that attracts the customers’ attention. People might stop their tracks and gawk in awe of its beauty and are more likely to enter the building to ask for services. Furthermore, the aesthetic value of a building architecture will represent the specific cultural ethos and make it become the landmark or a symbol of city, which attracts the tourists worldwide and raises the sense of national pride for residents. Take Hanoi Opera House as an obvious example, it has long been considered a Vietnamese cultural site, so maintaining its attractive exterior is undoubtedly an essential task.

On the other hand, it is clear that the function is also of significance to a building, as every construction needs to be safe, durable and comfortable. For instance, a shopping mall has to possess a wide walkway, a good lighting system and adequate emergency exits. Moreover, each building has its own practical use, so architects have to design it with a view to satisfy the requirements of the building’s users. For instance, the Vietnamese government once faced heavy criticism by the public for building an extravagant museum with luxury furnishings and expensive materials but barely fulfills its planned functions.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both function and appealing facade are importants factor to take into consideration in architecture’s design.