Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, several individuals believe that the intended building is the most essential aim when it is established than its outlook. Partially, I consent to the same point of view for several reasons which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, the important part of what the building is looked like might be aimed as a landmark of particular place (country or city) regarding its culture. This way could preserve the national heritage which simbolises the numerous historical events in ancient civilisation. Furthermore, such building probably attracts both domestic and international tourist. In term of its uniqueness (shape and size), this would draw public attention towards the impressive structure. To illustrate, the tallest skyscraper in the world, Burj Khalifa, encourages thousand eyes even the personages.

On the flip side, to consider its function could hinder the high cost of arresting such building. Inasmuch as all of the building parts detailed prioritise effectiveness of its shape, circulation and natural lighting, the amounts of expenditures are probably economised considering regular maintainance. In addition, the buildings apparently resist from any unexpected condition which is precluded by architect prior. The constructive designs of long-term purpose enable next generations to use them over the years. Subsequently, quality of the materials used would be major consideration of well-preserved construction.

To sum up, it seems to me that designing a building concerning on its function rather than visual impression might bring several benefits; achieving cheaper cost and resilient design. This is as long as the building could convince societies attention.