Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people argue that the amount of household waste being recycled is inadequate and that recycling should be of citizen legal responsibility. From my perspective, I totally support this idea in terms of its environmental and economic benefits.

First of all, considering the environmental aspect, legal requirements forcing people to recycle would be a huge contribution to ecosystem protection. It is widely known that the uncontrolled waste disposal has been causing great damage to the environment. Campaigns promoting recycling to save nature have been constantly conducted yet not effectively. This is possibly because inhabitants are not fined for dumping garbage illegally, thus, they are not scared of the consequence. Therefore, tougher measure by the government must be taken so that people will not dispose of waste insensibly and recycle more.

Secondly, regarding the economic facet, laws for recycling will help save a gigantic amount of state budget spent on waste disposal every year. It should be noted that the public’s refusal to recycle results in their spending more to buy new stuff. In this case, governmental regulations would be of great help for both sides. Specifically, compulsory recycling would make citizens more conscious before littering and resort to reusing things if they aspire to reduce their spending.

In conclusion, laws should be made in order to raise people awareness on the significance of recycling and give them more motivation to convert usage of old belongings.