Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to make people recycle more is to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Problems regarding the amount of domestic wastes getting recycled have long been debated. Some insist that only in enacting a legal requirement will the citizen be obliged to enhance recycling. In this essay, I will show my strong support for the idea.

Firstly, individuals, albeit already equipped with common sense and general knowledge about the impact of environment on humans as well as the necessity of recycling, remain lack of self-discipline. Thus, unless there were a strict lawsuit concerning recycling wastes from households, under no circumstances would the garbage be rigorously sorted and recycled. Germany, along with many other developed countries, has tackled the issue for decades, hence the clean atmosphere for the residents and tourists.

Moreover, people often tend to adhere to the law when it involves strict punishment. Only in paying fine will people gain their awareness of the severity if they are not recycling their domiciliary trash. Singapore has applied a rule forbidding people to have chewing-gum in public places, which contributes to the cleanliness of this top cleanest nation. Meanwhile in Vietnam, getting rid of used gums is a common practice.

Last but not least, accumulating unsorted wastes from domestic uses is as severe as destroying the habitat of marine and terrestrial animals and the species themselves as the non-recycled wastes can be exposed to deserted land or to the oceans. Therefore, taking out household rubbish without recycling must be taken as seriously as other activities like illegal logging or poaching.

To sum up, I believe it's essential for the government to pass a lawsuit to enhance the responsibility to increase recycling among people. It also helps them to ameliorate their deteriorating discipline.