Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

As the amount of residential waste produced in the wake of day by day automation and industrialization increases, so does the concern to recycling waste stream which claimed is not being paid attention to sufficiently. It is true that government by enacting laws would provide a long-term solution in dis regard. However, in my opinion, there is another alternative that shouldn't be ignored.

When governments establish a law with respect to recycling, accordingly, in order for people to not be penalized, it is mandatory to observe it. dis especially can act as a deterrent for those who would not cooperate to recycle their domestic waste despite being aware of its environmental consequences. Interestingly, a while after people are forced to do that, they start to do recycling not coz of their fear of punishment but for their being accustomed to do so, as it is observed in some developed countries. So when governments specify some penalties for not separating out solid residential wastes such as bottles, cans, food packing, food scraps, newspapers, etc. by individuals, in fact, they make it a legal requirement going to be a part of their culture.

While setting out the rules can guarantee the increase of recycling, there is still another approach like raising public awareness, as well. Admittedly, the more people are informed and educated about the importance of recycling, the more responsibly they act. Media as an effective tool to boost public awareness can serve to educate people in how environmentally threatening it would be, when there is no proper action to recycling, repurposing and disposing of the home waste. Apart from that, various mediums can be used to teach people how to recycle and compost their domestic waste properly. Media plays a role as important a part as making regulations does when it comes to people who wouldn’t recycle just coz of their being uninformed.

As outlined above, legislation on recycling and educating people alike are powerful approaches that make people become better recyclers.