Some people feel that the exploration of space justifies a large amount of government and private investment. Other people think that this field is of increasingly low relevance, and should not be a priority.

Debate both sides of this discussion, and explain your own view. How important is it for us to explore space at the moment?

The question if funding space exploration is justifiable is a matter of controversy. While knowing the world around us is exciting, in my view financing the luxurious projects of space investigation is not acceptable.

Since human being has always been curious about the surrounding world, huge amount of time and money have been consumed in this regard to satiate the desire. Besides some findings like effects of lunar rotation on tidal movement, lunar and solar eclipses have been useful in humans lives. For instance, development of calendar to record time, ocean navigation. Furthermore, the research in this field has helped in advancement of technologies leading to better prediction of weather forecasting as an example.

By contrast, none of the above mentioned benefits are as useful as various kinds of public services. As taxation is the main source of government income, the wealth should be allocated fairly to benefit all people nor solely to minority of elite. Most normal people may support public investments such as more advanced hospitals, public schools and safer roads at their disposal than NASA space programs thought they might get excited hearing the magnificent discoveries. Secondly, training and education scientist for space research requires insurmountable amount of money which could be allocated for training doctors, better payment for teachers and cancer research.

In conclusion, although space exploration may offer a sense of achievement to some extent, regarding a great deal of financial and human resources, I believe it would be wrong to deprive a majority of people from a quality life.