Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While one school of thought holds that the responsibility to protect the environment by producing less amount of packaging of products is by producers and suppliers, others say that customers should also avoid packaged products. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the latter notion.

On the one hand, the option of letting manufacturers and supermarkets shoulder their responsibility for limiting the amount of packaging is justifiable. Firstly, they are the only ones who can manage and adjust the outside package of each product. For example, the application of advanced technologies into the process chain in the manufacturers can help produce a large number of products with no packaging or use less plastic packaging. Secondly, the lack of awareness on the importance of having a stable ecosystem and prioritizing lucrative jobs also made companies and supermarkets need to be responsible. In particular, by using plastic packaging, manufacturers can reduce a large amount of money and do not have to spend their budget on complicated processes to produce environmentally friendly packaging.

On the other hand, there is a myriad of paramount importance as I am convinced that individuals also play an important part in the lessened consumption of over-packaged goods. One reason is that residents have a conception that over-packaged is needed to protect the products or give them a more hygienic feeling. This is a common misconception that needs to be dispelled. Another reason is that buyers can choose a variety of goods that are friendly with the environment. For example, Swedish tend to prefer using paper-packaging toothpaste, because they think it is easier for them to recycle and can use the waste of outside packages to nature.

In conclusion, it is inferable that manufacturers and supermarkets need to focus on using less packaging for their products, believing that it is more significant to change consumerism behaviors.