Some people feel that manufacturers have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

While some people think that it is the responsibility of producers and suppliers to reduce product packaging, others feel that the responsibility lies with consumers. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, packaging items for a product is essential, whether it is primary or secondary. It adds many advantages for the product, such as increasing a product sells. Therefore, many manufacturers are quite serious taking into account of their product's packaging; however, overusing package items will result in increasing waste. The manufacturer can use eco-friendly package item though, but mostly they use plastics since it is cheap. As economical as they can be, plastics are hurting the environment because it is difficult to be destroyed naturally. Thus, companies ought to consider reducing their amount of packaging, making it as eco-friendly and straightforward as possible. A local beer factory in Semarang city, for example, using glue to stick their product's can instead of plastic wraps, and recently they won a green company award.

On the other hand, customer, as the end-user of the product, also have an essential role in lessening the waste of packaging. Their purchasing behaviour may be the trigger of companies to use minimal packaging. Suppose they prefer to buy a less-packaged product on the market. In that case, it will form a new culture in shopping, forcing the producer to change their product according to the consumer's demand. However, such a goal required many involved parties, especially the government. They can promote the people to buy a lighter packaged product, through mass media such as national television or government's billboard all over the nations.

In summary, more materials used in a product means more waste. Manufacturers as the first party in the product cycle have the most responsibilities in this issue. However, support from people to provide the right situation in the market also required.