Some people feel that once they go overseas they have to follow the new culture and forget about their traditional culture. State your view.

Customs and traditions are the skeleton of any culture. Migration obviously leads to the challenge of choice to prefer newer norms over household ones which people often debate. This essay discusses both perspectives and comes to a conclusion.

At the outset, acculturation has inevitably invaded since colonial periods. In the modern world, many prefer to settle in developed countries citing arguably improved living standards. Cultural shock is an initial commonality to this bunch, however over the years, foreign habits eventually pervades the settlers in hopes of societal acceptance. To reminisce a strong example, dating culture is well prevalent among Indian students abroad, which is strictly considered in some Indian communities. With successive generations, certain indigenous practices are being steadily sieved out by their international peers .

On a deeper study, we get our lessons from parents and our society. The ideas and values instigated in an individual regionally, possesses a linear correlation with the respect they uphold. For instance, treating teachers and guests with at most respect is a commonly found ancient Indian teaching. It is no wonder that an teachers are amongst the highly respected groups in Indian communities, with their very own day of celebration. Meanwhile, festivals and holidays paint a unique picture of a nation’s background, and portray a lovely splendour of one’s ethnicity. Loosing this uniqueness might not be a worthwhile effort considering nobody is perfect.

To conclude, this essay agrees with the necessity of cultural preservation of any country men residing in any part of the world apart from their home, because nothing can change the fact that any immigrant is always a representative of a nation’s pride and honour.