Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are those who claim that young adults should behave in the same manner that prior generations did, while others believe they should act freely according to their will. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints.

On the one hand, it is integral for the young to follow the traditions of their community. The key rationale in favour of this view is that leading a traditional life can foster an appreciation for the culture in each youngster. In addition to this, observing the customs could remind young people that they are members of this society, which means they should be willing to defend and contribute to their community. By contrast, eliminating traditions from human lives causes young generations to lose their connection with their ancestors as well as lack of respect for their own culture.

On the other hand, I am convinced that it is far more beneficial for the young to have opportunities to express themselves freely in parallel with orthodox norms. Firstly, our society undergoes constant changes, which means there will be traditions that are no longer suitable or relevant, and the younger generations will be the ones who help to adjust them by changing their own behaviors. Secondly, as the youth is the most energetic life stage, people at this age tend to try new activities which are seen as adventurous and risky by old generations. Therefore, if young adults are limited by traditional thinking and customs, they will be denied the chance to achieve their full potential and enhance their life experience in the modern era that is constantly changing.

However, it could be more sensible that the young should develop their imagination and creativity while still regarding their cultural background and past events. It is because orthodox regulations had been formed based on the wisdom of our ancestors in order to prevent unnecessary mistakes from happening again.

In conclusion, I argue that young people should know their origins and traditions in order to be clear of who they are, and they should learn to select and follow the best practice of both traditions and modern thinking based on their own beliefs and experience.