Some people have benefited from modern technology, but some have not benefited from it at all. To what extent do you agree?

The advent and development of science and technology have changed our World in many respects. However, some people claim that leading-edge technology is not completely beneficial as thought. In my opinion, I partly agree with this argument.

On the one hand, many modern devices seem to cause confusion to the elderly and to be hardly affordable for the poor. For old people, due to the effects of ageing which result in weakening the functions of many organs such as eyes and brain, it is particularly difficult for them to utilise those gadgets effectively. In other words, as many electronic companies try to make their products as minimal in details and exquisite in designs as possible, the elderly may find them perplexing and time-consuming to learn using those items. For poor people, while they have other struggles in life like poverty or illiteracy, purchasing new technology every time it is updated is unbelievable. For instance, only the richest person in the mountainous villages in Northwest Vietnam can afford a mobile phone which is beyond the reach of the common in those places.

On the other hand, I would also argue that recent scientific applications play a vital role in the advancement of our society. Thanks to the dramatic progress in surgery equipment, nowadays thousands of lives have been saved every year from many illnesses once considered incurable such as tumours, heart disease. Without those sophisticated techniques, mankind would have never been successful in combating those deadly diseases and increasing our life expectancy. Another positive impact of machines and computers worth mentioning is the fast, far-flung communication. Centuries ago, talking to somebody in a far distance was a far-fetched story. Nevertheless, handheld tech now ensures convenience and open-access communication which allow everybody to connect, correspond and collaborate on a global scale.

In conclusion, while I admit that not everyone in our community profits from cutting-edge technology, I believe that it is still instrumental in many aspects of our lives.