Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a fair amount of people believes that much time is devoted to teaching the facts instead of focusing on hands-on experience in all phases of learning, whether it is school or college. From my sentiment, I totally accord on it and in this essay, I will support my view with valid argument and examples. Facilities

First and foremost, most of the institutes follow the conventional method of teaching which includes reading and writing. By this method, students can only recall concepts for a limited amount of time and when it is time to apply that knowledge at work they have forgotten it. Consequently, many students who have a degree in physics or electronics cannot even change bulbs would be an example worth mentioning. Likewise, many MBAs cannot fill out a tax form. All these points to the shortcomings of a system of learning that focuses only on theory.

Admittedly, it could be said that the current curriculum does not have an equal number of theory and practical classes. To prove my point, while I had one lecture each day on object-oriented programming, there was only one practice session for the whole week. Due to this improper organization, I could not practice everything being taught and hence lacked a proper understanding of the concepts. If we had an equal proportion of theory and laboratory classes, I would have gained better skills and more confidence to enter the labor market.

After discussing all the points and examples above, I can finally conclude that much time spent on theory rather of experimental learning due to the current structure of leaning. Unfortunately, this overemphasis on theory makes barriers to student from acquiring real world skills.