Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and

poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it

must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is little room for doubt that the thriving of economies plays an essential role in tackling the problems related to hunger and poverty. It would be argued that economic growth is the only solution to those global issues. In my opinion, however, it is high time for an end of that kind of growth to conserve the environment.

On the one hand, those who see economic growth alone as the sole cure for the tragedy of world hunger

and poverty propose one major argument. Only the growth of the economies of the

developing countries will provide the poor with the wealth to afford the basic necessities

of life. The profits made by corporations who are responsible for this economic growth

will trickle down in the form of financial benefits to be enjoyed by the starving and

needy. This view has justified the age of imperialism and the destruction of the

livelihood of millions in the name of progress.

On the other hand, there are countless examples to support the opposing view that

economic growth results in environmental destruction. Firstly, this is true for developing

countries, where lowland rainforests have been cleared and unsustainable agricultural

practices introduced to produce cash crops, often for export. Secondly, it is also true for

developed economies. For example, the continued use of fossil fuels, which provide the

energy for growing industrialisation, is causing global warming. This is leading to a rise

in sea levels, which will eventually make tens of millions of poor people in Bangladesh

homeless.

In conclusion, economic growth which is not sustainable must be stopped. If it is not

based on meeting human needs rather than generating profits, such growth will only

create more poverty and lead to more hunger in the world by destroying natural

resources.