Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, opinions are divided regarding whether the development of the economy would be the sorely way to eliminate starvation and poverty or would detrimentally affect the environment. Although economic expansion could bring several harmful impacts on nature, I am in favour of the idea that economic prosperity plays a vital role in addressing the deprivation of food and money of societies.

On the one hand, there are grounds to believe that preventing economic growth is necessary since it could exacerbate the poor condition of the environment. First and foremost, it is undeniable that activities of industrial zones, which are dispensable in economic revolutions, often lead to severe air pollution. This is because activities of these zones necessitate the combustion of fossil fuel, consequently a high concentration of carbon dioxide is discharged into the atmosphere. Moreover, chemical contaminants and rubbish of factories released into water could significantly harm seas, rivers and marine animals. Some marine animals could not differentiate between garbage and their food; therefore they might consume the trash, causing devastating influences on these animals’ health. Meanwhile, toxic chemical liquid might be the main factors for the mass death of fishes in some areas.

On the other hand, I advocate that economic growth is one of the most effective ways to tackle famine and poverty. Firstly, enhancement of the economy elevates people out of joblessness; therefore people could afford their basic living expenses and put an end to starvation. When the economic sector thrives, there is a larger demand for laborers, which, in turn, could generate more job opportunities. Secondly, a wealthy economy greatly contributes to the government coffers which could ease the shortage of food and money. In fact, enormous national budgets enable authorities not only to conduct welfare schemes that supply food and money for the underprivileged but also to provide free education which helps the needy to gain knowledge to have better jobs. That would make them alleviate the financial pressure and avoid becoming hungry.

In conclusion, while the development of the economy has some negative impacts on the environment such as worsening air pollution and destroying rivers and seas. I am in favour that economic improvement should be continued to deal with famine and poverty.