Opinions are divided on whether economic growth plays an integral part in enhancing people’s living quality. While several people claim that the development of the economy would be forbidden due to its adverse impacts on environment, I firmly believe that economic growth is the most effective way to tackle some issues related to poverty.

On the one hand, with the rapid development of industrialization, many poisonous chemicals from produced facilities or factories are dumped into environment and emissions are released into the atmosphere, which trigger severe environmental contamination. For instance, local factories that manufacture plastic products always discharge untreated waste into rivers or lakes nearby, consequently, it can cause water pollution and kill the aquatic species inhabiting these places. Both these issues have negative impacts on people’s health and destroy our planet. Additionally, deforestation to construct more infrastructure for economic activities also damages the habitat of wild species and makes the Earth less green.

On the other hand, when national authorities take numerous measures to boost the economy, the unemployment rate is decreased by offering for local people to seek new jobs to fulfill their demands and support financially for their families. In this way, the living standard can be enhanced and lessen the rate of poverty across the country. Furthermore, it is indisputable that economic activities can give a rise to the development of education, which means that children entirely have more chance to be well-educated. They can attend school and acquire knowledge in one or more specialist sectors to get more job opportunities and have brighter career prospects.

In conclusion, I still maintain my original viewpoint that people can be beneficial from economic growth such as attaining more job opportunities and improving their living standards; however, I also believe that several negative effects on environment could be addressed by investigating some sustainable measures in manufacturing.