Many individuals believe that only economic growth can bring deprivation and starvation to an end, whereas some argue that it should be stopped because the environment is being destroyed. From my perspective, I am in agreement with the former view, even though the latter one is reasonable.

There is a common belief that the environment can be destroyed by economic development. In fact, people are surrounded by industries in which natural resources are dramatically exploited and utilized. The areas, such as wood processing, are over-exploiting natural forests, so that has adverse effects on not only creatures living dependently on the woods but also the whole atmosphere and environment. On top of that, economic growth obviously causes severe air pollution, along with the expansion of factories, industrial zones, and the growing number of personal vehicles. It is immutably true that industrial activities negatively impact the environment, ozone layers, and ecosystems by contributing carbon dioxide gas. However, economic development can be helpful in overcoming the problems. For instance, the government budget can be invested in innovations invented for purifying the air and using renewable energy sources such as wind or solar power.

It is undeniable that economic development can help people suffering from starvation and other unprivileged situations. The first reason is that people can find jobs to meet their basic needs.For example, when an international corporation penetrates into a developing country, citizens of the nation can get a job and a salary to maintain their daily life. As a result, their living standards, in particular, and the development of the whole country, in general, can significantly increase. Moreover, economic growth can also build public awareness. In Vietnam, many big companies raised funds and established schools in mountainous areas in the north for charitable purposes. Consequently, the number of illiterate people in those areas was magnificently reinforced. Also, the poor customs and criminal rate improved considerably.

To sum up, many people hold their own point of view about the effects of economic growth on poverty, hunger, and the environment. However, I believe that economic development plays a vital role in bringing deprivation to an end and maintaining nature.