The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniably true that imposing harsher penalties for driving offenses can improve road safety. However, I believe that there are a lot of methods that can help to reduce road offenses.

Punishments give motorists a deterrent and a warning to help them make up their mind rightfully. Those crossing a red line and driving under the influence of alcohol would be more cautious if the letter of the law is carried out. As a result, crashes, encounters, and accidents on the road would be reduced, and safety for pedestrians and people riding motorbikes and bicycles would be guaranteed. In fact, the solution has brought such outstanding results that the number of accidents caused by traffic participants in Vietnam has decreased by about 10% in 2020. However, punishments should not be applied to unexpected situations such as crashes happening due to limited vision, construction sites, and problems relating to infrastructure.

I would agree that the governments should promulgate regulations for unfortunate circumstances. The problem of motorists' crashing into pedestrians and other objects because of narrow views can be overcome by installing bulging outward mirrors and lamps in areas with hidden corners. In addition, equipping traffic signals and road signs to warn others of the danger demonstrates itself in reducing hazards from building sites. People working in those areas need to wear luminous protective clothes to reinforce the eyes of traffic participants. On top of that, developing the infrastructure by improving the quality of the road system and traffic lights has succeeded in reducing the number of unexpected accidents in several countries.

To sum up, the positive aspects that strict punishments contribute to road safety are undoubtedly colossal, but it is not the only method, and there are possible methods that can be applied to prevent the dangers when joining traffic.