Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that some people argue that economic growth is the solely measure for global problems of hunger and poverty. The other part of world population, however, believe that the end of increasing economies would protect our environment. I completely agree with the latter opinion.

Those who consider economic growth as the only solution/cure for the tragedy of poverty propose one major argument. Only would the economic growth of developing countries provide the poor with the wealth to afford the basic needs of life. Companies’ profits which make contributions to this growth would trickle down in the form of financial benefits for the poor. This opinion has justified the age of imperialism and destroyed livelihoods of millions of citizens in the name of growth.

On the other hand, there are a variety of examples to support for the opposing view that economic growth is one of the main reasons leading to environmental destruction. Firstly, it is true for some developing countries, where tropical forests in lowland had been destroyed and unsustainable agricultural practices introduced to produce cash crop, usually for export. Secondly, this is also true for developed economies. For instance, the continued use of fossil fuels to provide energy for the industrialized development is resulting in the global warming. It leads to the sea level rise, which will eventually make millions of poor people in Bangladesh become homeless.

In conclusion, unsustainable economic growth must be stopped. If it is not based on meeting demands of human but making profits, this economic growth will only create more poverty and lead to more hunger in the world by destroying natural resources.