Some people say the fashion industry has a bad effect on people’s lives.

Do you agree?

The fashion industry is currently subject to open-ended debate. It is often claimed that the fashion industry affects the public badly. In my opinion, I support this statement for several reasons.

People are aware of their appearance in front of others; therefore, they pay much attention to how they dress every day. Instant fashion trends not only create a huge change in the fashion industry, but they also have a negative influence on people's opinions about appearance. For example, the fashion industry being intermittent and short-lived influences people to put more effort into their appearance. Therefore, they would throw away their old clothes and spend a lot of money on the trendiest jeans or shoes. Moreover, the fashion industry creates appearance obsession in people; thus, it leads to many problems such as depression or self-deprecation if people dress obsoletely to the newest fashion trend.

Fashion is not only about clothes but also about luxury. In a survey conducted by a fashion magazine, the public is willing to spend tons of money on luxury brands like Chanel and Dior in order to follow the latest fashion trends. However, this results in excessive waste in clothing purchases because clothing from famous brands is high-priced. Buying expensive clothes to be fashionable is unnecessary. Furthermore, spending money on expensive clothes just to be trendy can cause many individuals to suffer from monetary problems such as debts.

In conclusion, the fashion industry has a negative impact on society because it not only makes people become obsessed with their looks, but it also brings about financial issues due to the high prices of clothes.