Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words

While there are many strong arguments about the necessity of history at schools, several people believe that science and technology are not less important than other subjects. I hold an opinion that not only history but also science-technological subjects play a crucial role in developing awareness and acknowledgment about the world.

On the one hand, the importance of history is proven by a variety of different aspects. People, especially children, usually tend to have a sense of curiosity about their ancestors and the origin of cultures, which could help them build up mental values such as self-esteem. Therefore, learning history is necessary so that people are capable of tackling puzzle questions about the formulation of human civilization. Moreover, people are likely to have an equal and fair evaluation about detrimental disasters happening in the past by nature or humans in order to avoid the same damaging ones in the future. If they recognize the main reasons leading to the American civil war in the nineteenth century, they could attempt not to experience it in later life.

However, I also realize that science-technological subjects are remarkably crucial because of their contributions to modern life. By all accounts, the inventions have been bringing extremely potential changes for human life. For instance, exploring the electronic energy of Doctor Faraday or the shining bump of Doctor Edison, all of which came with their desires and dedication in science and technology that they were contacting. People are able to explore and pursue their career goals like being a scientist or an engineer if they have more opportunities to study science and technology in the early ages. By being well trained as soon as possible, more employees with high quality and skills could meet the labor demands in society.

In conclusion, my point is that both history and science-technological subjects are also necessary for all people's growth of awareness. Instead of evaluating whether one of them is more important than the others, people should teach the learners better.