Some people say that industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, but some other people argue that industrial growth is creating environmental problems and it should be stopped. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

The relation between industrialisation and prosperity of a nation is debatable. It is believed by some that industrial development has positive impact on reducing poverty while other argue that it harmful for environment and should be stopped. In my opinion, Industrial growth is an essential factor for economic development but more measures should be considered for environmental sustainability.

On the one hand, it often claimed by some that industrial growth has significant impact on lowering the poverty rate in certain country. This is because the increasing number of factories tends to open more job opportunities for both unskilled and skilled workers. This condition is most likely decrease unemployment and large number of people would gain fixed income. As a result, the purchasing power of the people would increase and this becomes a predominant solution to solve poverty issues.

On the other hand, other suggest that industrialisation should not be allowed as it brings negative effects for environment. Factories produce large sums of greenhouse gases which contaminates the air quality and contribute to global warming. If carbon dioxide could not be controlled, it would worsen the air quality and became detrimental for our live. For instance, the air quality index of industrial city is much lower than the areas that have more greenbelt spaces. Therefore, industrialisation leads to more disadvantages for environment and humans.

In my opinion, industrial growth should be supported as the main solution to reduce poverty is by creating more and more employments for people. However, this development should be in line with measures that protect the earth. For example, government should impose green taxes and strict law on how companies should manage their waste.

In conclusion, industrial growth is obviously beneficial to solve poverty issues but might be dangerous for the environment. Therefore, government should take an important role in imposing regulation to companies to protect the planet.