Some people say that men are naturally more competitive than women. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Competition is believed to be one of the most basic instinct of the human beings. Hence, there is an idea claiming that naturally, men have more desire to win than their counterparts of opposite sex. In my opinion, I partly agree with this viewpoint due to the different sense of struggles both genders face.

One the one hand, in terms of physical strength and endurance, men usually assert more emphasis to show dominance because of the desire to prove their prowess. Notably, in the past, when agriculture played a significant role in sustaining the livelihood of any family, it was the men who took on the taxing burden of heavy tasks to ensure the crop yield and produce from livestocks. Hence, only by giving off a strong sense of muscular power could a man assure his family of peaceful life. Nowadays, when agricultural labor is not as taxing, men need to show their endurance in the face of office work, which requires lots of mental strength to accomplish. For example, a man needs to work for long hours with multiple deadlines to sustain his job, which is vital to his family livelihood.

On the other hand, women tend to concentrate on more matter regarding to beauty. Specifically, there is a strong desire among female population to appear and sustain a charming image, which alleviates much confidence. Hence, it is not strange to witness a fierce race among women to display their best appearance, which they pay much attention to detail to perfect. Yet, this phenomena is reverse among the male counterparts as male quest for beauty is quite more calm.

In conclusion, each gender has own goal to thrive to. When it comes to physical prowess, men would put their strongest effort, yet women usually pay much attention to perfect their appearance.