Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Renovation is a popular method of sustaining the quality of various construction after years of service. Yet, there is an idea that, dated building, which would cost tremendous resources to maintain and restore should be deconstructed. Them the saved materials would be utilized for more modern building project. In my opinion, I totally agree with this notion

First and foremost, retaining old building structures should be discouraged due to their outdated architectural purposes. Specifically, in term of the designs, many buildings were constructed in accordance with the need of their short term period, which might last a few decades. Yet, the societal and economical progresses require drastic changes, which surpass functionalities of the designs that many old building are envisioned. Hence, committing vast resources both financially and materially would be ill-advised as the meticulousness in changing the core structure of any constructions would necessitate the use of expensive renovation work and arduous labor.

Moreover, it is highly economical to invest in new buildings because of the potential longevity promised by updated construction technology. Generally speaking, a new construction project introduces the opportunities to apply various advanced techniques that not only well utilize building materials and valuable time, but also ensure better quality by applying new architectural mindsets and latest technology. For example, instead of using conventional materials and continue the service of old appliances, my new house has employed new type of compounded brick and structure frame, which prolong the construction integrity. Additionally, my house is equipped with latest technology, which allows more comfort while energy use is well managed.

In conclusion, since old buildings were infused with dated designs, which proves to be unfit for temporary need, the construction of new structure on their stead is highly recommended as the buildings would be designed to last longer and offer better convenience. .