Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to globalization, foreign languages play a significant role in keeping the world a little closer. it is a heated debate, whether a particular language is for work and travel only. However, I personally believe that it holds much more importance rather than being used in necessities.to some while it is the opposite for others.

To begin with, most of the people from the very origin have learned their mother tongue and to receive proper knowledge about the other is quite difficult so most of the people gain fair information to keep the life going. Moreover, circumstances are developed in a timeframe which forces an individual to clear the basics and concentrate on the bigger picture. To illustrate, most of the uneducated sectors in India travel to foreign countries like Canada, Australia and so on, to do so they pass the English Proficiency tests like IELTS and TOEFL in a couple of months which is a proof that they do not require the high levels of that language.

On the other hand, it is commonly believed by some that obtaining the basics is not enough as there are other aspects related to it as well. Firstly, those who want to dig deep into the culture of one nation skill is a must so as to attain the ability to get more insights into it at a higher level. Secondly, for a professional who wants to conduct business is required to know it deeply. Finally, to get along with the localities, some believe that it is essential to know about the language more than just knowing.

To conclude, I strongly consider that indeed for some it can work by just knowing the basics while for the other group it might be more valuable so, in the end, I would like to say that it is the decision of a person and he/she should act accordingly.