Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning the other languages than your mother tongue is an all-time controversial issue. Some group of people believe that learning a foreign language is not beneficial except for travel or work purpose; however, the others claim that there are the other reasons besides work and travel to learn a foreign language for people. While I agree that learning the other language can be fruitless for some group of people just for limited aims, I think that it can be useful for the other reasons that I would outline in this essay.

On the one hand, some people limited the use of foreign language just for travel and work goals and they seem this ability unimportant. They think that learning a language other than your mother tongue should be optional for people and especially youngsters and the student's time table should be filled with the other major subjects like science and history. Furthermore, governments should not investigate their money on teaching other languages; in contrast, they should invest in fundamental issues like city sprawl, science development, and recreational facilities. They think also learning the other language can have devastating effects on our culture and history by considering lower value for our mother tongue and invasion from the other cultures.

On the other hand, opponents of learning foreign language say that it has many and various advantages both for ordinary people and governments. Firstly, it can help us to be familiar with various types of cultures and learn about their different aspects. Besides, learning some worldwide languages like English can help scholars and scientists to share their knowledge and achievements with the same language and make the improvement of science more straightforward. Finally, merchants can trade more easily and it can have a positive impact on the economy. I believe that since we live in centuries that communication with other nations is vital, learning foreign languages are inevitable and essential; moreover, we should consider its drawbacks and try to reduce them.

In conclusion, however, I can understand the reasons for people who think foreign languages are not utilitarian to learn as the main issue, I believe that its advantages outweigh to disadvantages and it could have lots of benefit for both people and societies.