Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays the host of people emphasis the importance of foreign languages. Some of them, including me, have argued that work and travel are the exclusive grounds for learning a non-native language, while others think otherwise.

On the one hand. individuals may not find quality time to allocate learning other languages. In this fast-changing world, they have hectic lifestyles. To be precise, people have to work over 8 hours and usually are in competition with other companies and workers to meet deadline. So that if people have chance to find free time, presumably they would deal with other personal issues like spending time with their families and friends. Besides, money is a vital matter to learning foreign language. In some countries language courses include huge fortunes. Individuals who live in impoverished areas suffer from financial issues and the large number of them to make ends meet have to work overtime. Consequently, they could not afford to pay fees for these courses.

On the other hand, there are individuals learning other foreign languages just for personal fulfilment. They have sense of curiosity and are drawn by foreign institutions, cultures and countries so that to access this information, they would have to pursue any non-native books and news which motivates them learn other foreign languages. Furthermore, with having basic knowledge of other non-native language, individuals could easily expand their circle of friends. As a result of mass media, people could make friends with other people who speak different language by social networking and sending instant messages, which could play a crucial role in strengthening social bond. however, they could use translated version of books or news to be familiar with various aspects of other nations and adopt other captivating ways to make friends, like mutual friends.

In conclusion, I believe that because of issues with time and money, people could give priority to learning non-native language only when they have work and travel purposes.