Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that people study a foreign language for job opportunities or travel purposes. While, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and present a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support that acquiring a second language in case of personal activities clarify the various benefits which could be bring to the public. These range from understanding foreign cultures, to historical myths. For instance, learning about the tradition and culture of nations by travelling lead to interesting information, which greatly expands traveler’s experience in their life. Another argument is to be job promoted and choose to immigrate relating to a person’s occupation, meaning that the workers obtain more confidence.

By contrast, opponents of this view pinpoint that being able to speak another language is not limited in terms of previous factors. In fact, bilingualism would have significant advantages. Examples can be seen in fewer bilingual people than monolingual people who suffer from brain diseases such as Alzheimer’s. In addition, bilingual adults acquire a third language better than monolingual adults who master a second language. It might be more efficient if societies force the educational systems to highlight the importance of learning a foreign language for pupils. Finally, it must be said that not only learning a second language leads to specific measures but also appears to contain several aspects.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that the monolingual people have a wide range of sufficient motives for acquiring a second language despite the general view that the only aim is to travel or work in a foreign region.