Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that the reason for learning a foreign language is only to travel or work. However, others believe that these are not the only reasons why people learn a foreign language. I agree with the latter statement.

It is true that many people learn a language for travel and work purposes. In current society, it is important that worker should have second language ability. If people do not have this ability, they may be hard to find a job. Learn to travel is also a popular reason, tourists may have a better experience if they can speak the local language. They can make friend with local people easier compare to people who cannot speak the local language.

However, there are still a lot of reasons why people learn a foreign language. Learning for entertainment is one reason, some people learn a foreign language because they want to watch a foreign movie. For example, one of my friends really love Japanese movies, she learns Japanese because she wants to watch the latest movie and do not want to wait for subtitle translation. Secondly, learn a foreign language is good to understand one country's culture. Since translate may differ the original meaning or is hard to explain by using another language, .

In conclusion, there is no doubt that some people learn a foreign language for travel and work purposes. However, as other reasons I have mentioned, different people have different reasons for learning a new language. To travel and to work in a foreign is not the only reason.