Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People believe that gender equality is important nowadays. Therefore, universities should accept equal numbers of males and females in every subject. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the responsibility of the educational institution is not only to provide professional knowledge but also equip students with practical skills. In other words, in the current education system, the gender gap between different majors is quite wide, and this makes students lost the ability to communicate with the opposite gender. If there are the same number in every subject, students could gain the chance to work with the opposite gender in classes, which would be useful to them in their adult life.

Another reason why universities should enroll equal number of male and female students is that this will help to change the gender stereotype. In current society, for example, we could find that engineering subjects are more popular among male students. This phenomenon could create female students form a misconception that this major is for boys rather than for girls, and refuse to study in this subject even if they are talented. If institutions could ensure every subject has number of pupils from both genders, this stereotype could be broken and collages could cultivate more talented people.

In conclusion, I would say that there will have many positive effects on both students and academy, if education institutions provide equal number of males and females in each major. Students should be encouraged to choose the major based on their interest and capability rather than by their gender.