At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The age distribution has become imbalanced in many countries. In some nations, young adults comprise the highest percentage of the population. In my opinion, I believe the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks, and my reasons are below.

Firstly, the economy will grow if countries have more youth. Young people are energetic, dynamic and can contribute to the production and job sector. They are the only earning members in the society while children and elderly are dependent on them. If the proportion of young adults is lower than other age groups, the economy will slump. To explain it further, companies and factories cannot operate without labor, they need young healthy adults to work and produce products. Another advantage of having more youth is that they always challenge the old style of thinking, an often come up with creative solutions, which could change the world.

On the other hands, too many elderly people will cause problems. To begin with, governments should spend a lot of money on them, such as improving health care system to take care of the elderly and release pension. This would tighten the government budgets and could not spend money on improving countries’ infrastructure. However, it is obvious that the high proportion of youth would not cause this problem, there are the taxpayer and governments do not have to spend a lot of money looking after of them.

By way of conclusion, as youth are the major supplier in both the job market and tax revenue of the governments, which is the most important for countries' development. Thus, I once again reaffirm that the advantages of the high proportion of young adults outweigh the disadvantages.