Some people say patriotism is the biggest cause of war. But others believe that when people are patriotic, they are more likely to take an interest in a country's day-to-day running and therefore less likely to allow unscrupulous politicians to drive a country to war.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

War and tension is believed to stem from blind patriotism by some. However, in accordance with another objective interpretation, the state at which individuals possess this sense of pride tends to drive their attention towards national progress and administrations are less inclined to let the country stay at the brink of war. I firmly concur with the latter notion for some reasons.

For one thing, blindly patriotism could potentially trigger individuals to be led astray. With regards to international tension, primarily in political issues, the side in which the administrations gain more edge in global conferences is likely to dominate other aspects. One inevitable ramification is that this leads to the growing emergence of reactionary entities, taking advantage from the country's contentious controversies, and arousing impulsive protests so as to justify the reason for one's rights. In the meantime, the outbreak of revolutions impose great pressures on governmental bodies, intensifying conflicts in both domestic and international contexts, since the public voice is indeed a potent influential factor thanks to democratic philosophy.

For another, from a different angle, patriotic sensation is deemed a remarkably positive factor to kindle one’s interest in national progress. The impulse of contributing to the joint effort in order to eliminate hindrance in acquiring high-ranking national reputation is widely possessed by personnel in various aspects. For instance, scientific breakthroughs or medical achievements could be attributed to the united endeavors of specialists, but all come from a pure desire to overcome poverty and incentive public well-being. In turn, this acts as a driving force for governments to allocate resources to meaningful pursuits rather than to weigh heavily on arms race.

To conclude, regardless of the possible culmination of raising patriotism is war, I contend that this sensation is fervently an important catalyst in fostering one’s appreciation to perpetuate meaningful contribution for the country.