Some people say that physical education classes are an important part of a child’s education. Others believe that it is more important to focus on academics during school time. Discuss both these views, and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it can be seen that healthcare systems in almost all developed nations are overwhelmed with an alarming health concern especially linked with children called obesity. It is often agreed that despite changing dietary habits, students should be exposed to physical education classes within the school premises. However, many others oppose this idea stating that schools should mainly focus on improving academic scores. I am in accord with the former statement and think that promoting physical education will result in a healthy and fit society. In this essay, I will emphasize various points as to why it should be, I will also include a conflicting point of view.

It is an undeniable fact that increased competition pressurizes students to score higher in order to get enrolled in the best universities. As a result, parents deny their excess involvement in extra-curricular activities including physical fitness programs. In addition, ones' physical outlook or inability in performing better during fitness classes leads to bullying. Also, the rising trend of fitness programs in school gives a feeling of insecurity and jealousy. For instance, nearly 14% of the schools' population includes physically challenged children, who sometimes feel outcasted within a group.

On the contrary, a section of society believes that exercise in the form of physical education class is very crucial for a healthy lifestyle, which usually is ignored at home in favor of technology. Following these classes on a regular basis leads to a holistic development of children. Moreover, learning a new skill in the form of sports gives an additional vocational opportunity. For example, some students who are not so bright academically can look ahead with a skillful future. Hence, due to immense gains, schools should work in making these classes as an indispensable part of the system.

To conclude, the views on whether to encourage physical education in schools varies largely. However, in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the demerit points, hence, these classes should be designed on the basis of equal opportunity and a balanced approach with academics to raise self-esteem and self-confidence resulting in a healthy society.