some people say that school is responsible for making students law abiding but other say that their duty is to work on their individuality. do you agree or disagree.

People have diverse views about the main purpose of school education. I support the idea that the most important responsibility of schools is to develop children’s skills for future jobs and make them responsible citizens, instead of developing their individuality.

To start with, preparing an individual for a particular future work at an early age is extremely important because it would help him in earning a decent living and the country would be economically developed. It would mean that schools should teach students discipline and skills which are indispensable at their future work, rather than developing his individual talents and unique attributes. For example, many schools today concentrate on career-oriented subjects like computer programming, business studies, and journalism, instead of wasting too much time on sports or extra-curricular activities that nurture individual’s talents.

Another priority for schools is teaching proper civil behaviour which can reduce crimes and accidents and make the country more peaceful. They can train children to abide by rules, regulations, and laws of the nations. For example, in many developing countries, there is a serious lack of civic sense among the citizens like violation of traffic rules, littering in public places and carelessness about environmental pollution. Only schools can effectively teach these qualities so that they would be deeply rooted in them at an early age.

On the other hand, there is also a question whether education should benefit students in developing their individuality by nurturing their talents in art, music, sports or similar traits. Although these are important aspects, schools should be much more concerned about vocational and civic education because countries need a greater number of skilled labour force and more responsible citizens.

In conclusion, the main purpose of schools is to prepare students to be productive workers and law-abiding citizens, rather than developing their individuality. It is the best way to contribute to the development and civil life of the nation.