Some people say that schools should be closed amid an outbreak of the disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People would like to consider closing schools as an effective way to prevent disease that currently exist from spreading. I am in full disagreement with this point of view. Not only does this action detrimentally affect the social life but it might also enhance the possibility of the outbreak.

First of all, the closure of schools can be a financial burden on both teachers and families. If schools are closed for a long time, the principal cannot allocate salaries to its staffs (especially private schools). The teachers and other workers who live on the one source of budget from schools lose their actual salaries and have to find alternative jobs for a period of time. in addition, with regard to single-parent, the situation even becomes more difficult as they have to simultaneously make a living and put an eye on their children. Also, some families even decide to rent a babysitter to take care of their offspring which has the same meaning as spending another sum of money.

Secondly, some people believe that not going to school can fight with an infectious disease. Staying at home gives them a sense of safety because they are isolated from the public areas. However, I would argue that schools emerge to be a more secure place than homes. Apparently, not everyone is willing to stay at home all day in day-off time. For example, my classmates invited me to hang out in a cafe during the outbreak of Covid-19. They were not fully informed about the danger of corona virus. Cafe, cinema or other entertaining destinations appear to be even more dangerous than schools. Moreover, when going to school, there would be medical protection and teachers reminding students to wash their hands regularly or wearing facial mask.

In conclusion, I contend that the school closure hardly stop the disease spreading. The opposite action seems to be a more efficient solution for the outbreak.