Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary.

Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that schools should put heavy emphasis on teaching academic courses because they would be beneficial for students' occupations in the future, others say that disciplines like music and sports are also of great importance. I side with the second view.

It can be said that the ultimate objective of most students is to get a highly remunerative job. To achieve this, students have to make sure that they have high scores in academic courses because nowadays, most universities and companies attach great importance to the performances of these subjects. Therefore, students put more effort and time into learning subjects like maths, physics, and chemistry. As a result, academic disciplines are compulsory in almost every school, while other non-academic subjects are ignored.

However, I believe that subjects such as music and physical education should not be completely excluded from schools' syllabus. While courses like maths and physics provide students with scientific knowledge, non-academic disciplines help cultivate students' interpersonal skills, which are of great importance to students' future careers. For instance, when children play team sports such as soccer, they would have to work together in order to defeat their opponents. Another example is that in Hanoi, students are encouraged to participate in sports and art activities at schools so that they can develop their creativity as well as cooperative skills.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that academic subjects should be prioritized at schools, however, I would contend that non-academic ones should not be overlooked due to their advantages for students' future jobs.