Some people say that teachers have the biggest influence on a child's development once he or she starts school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that teachers play the most vital part in a child’s development once he or she begins their education. While many may agree with the idea, I would personally argue that we cannot overlook the role of other contributing factors, namely family and peers.

On the one hand, there are certain effects that a teacher can have on a child. Firstly, teachers are directly responsible for the process of learning among children. Not only do the teachers arm students with the knowledge, they are also of great help to students by giving proper explanations and feedbacks at the time of need. This may benefit a child’s cognitive process, information acquisition and logical thinking. Secondly, teachers are likely to have a huge impact on a student’s personality, since children tend to learn things through observation and imitation. Take the case of my nephew as an example. After his first two years of primary school, he gained a sense of humour and became more talkative, which he couldn’t achieve with both of his serious and quiet parents. I can conclude this personality traits are obtained from my nephew’s homeroom teacher, whom I have met occasionally.

On the other hand, a child’s development can be attributed to family and friends as well. Parents provide their offspring with basic needs such as food, clothes or shelter. This is the direct contributor to one’s stable physical growth. Additionally, most children spend their early age with parents, so they tend to take after their father or mother’s in terms of behavior and manners. Another contributing factor to a child’s development is peers. At school, students are like to be assigned with group project or to take part in team sport, both of which require cooperation and decision – making skill.

To sum up, although teachers have considerable influence on the development of a child, I would contend that family and peers are also the attributors.